Reading. This is a hobby I passionately love. I failed English Literature at school, apparently, according to the curriculum anyway. This must be wrong! I feel I am ok with my writing and reading skills. I enjoy reading about many things, even if it’s something that I wouldn’t expect myself to enjoy, or maybe it’s something a friend has recommended to me.
I read a few books at a time, I open my mind to the literature techniques around the world and how these famous writers, poets etc. have all managed to get to where they are with there books etc. I have literally just finished two books.

 

One is called Precious which was made into a deep, epic motion picture and told the tale of one 16 year old African American girl who lived in Harlem, New York. Claireece Precious Jones she was called. Her mother and father raped and abused her; her father was a crack addicted who also has HIV and end up’s dying before the story hits the media. Precious’s story tells how she escaped this life of horror and darkness to a better life for her and her two incest children. Two children by her father, the first she had at 12, the next at 16. Booted out of school for been pregnant. This story is truly grim, horrible and heroic. I believe stories like this show the awful reality of the states and many other major cities that we depict to be the ‘greatest place on earth’. But it’s how Precious writes her story, she only just learnt how to read and write, and she writes the story so powerfully and beautifully that it made me cry and laugh all in one sentence. I enjoyed her poetry; her teacher tells her that her poetry is weird, different and unique. Which it is! Not always does it rhyme but it paints a beautiful picture in ones head.

 

Secondly, it’s a book by a Yorkshire-man, Ian Clayton.  He’s from Featherstone, further south from where I’m from. The book is called Bringing it all back home. It’s about popular music, and how he collects so many things to remind him of moments in his life, he’s a huge fan of the Blues and Jazz and I to am a big fan. My friend Jack, who is a punk, the friendliest punk I’ve ever met, he recommended the book to me when he knew I loved the music genres I do. He said this book I would enjoy because I can relate to this man so much, he’s just too northern and I would understand it. I laughed and took the book. Never have I enjoyed and learnt so much from one book. I learned so much music through this book, and I am making it a task, a challenge, and I’m committing to it. I wish to go for an ale with this person and spend an afternoon talking about the world, music, adventures, his book and his beautiful daughter who passed away and is an inspiration to the people of Featherstone. The main reason I enjoy this book is because of his use of language, I even re-read certain lines out because he types certain words us Yorkshire folk would use. I pronounce and say it out like my dad would have done, or my mother would have done. It’s so interesting to think other people would understand this language.

 

These are just two of my recent reads, I’m also reading my mass collection of Hunter S. Thompson, and my huge Stephen Fry Chronicles. I must start writing my publications which I dreamed about, my ideas I never continued. Reading this material that I so dearly love and enjoy influences me to get over my own life, helps me with my depression and helps me think about how to write more articles and books in the future.

 

I believe the main tools any human needs to be successful, powerful, intelligent and wise, is not a gun, not a sword or arrow, but simply a pen and paper.

Philosophizing and educating each other is the way forward for mankind, all this can be found in the luxury of a book, or can be created on the very nub of a pen.

 

READ READ READ

